What will others think?

One of the things I had to wrap my head around before I felt I could commit to doing the 30-Day Challenge was what others would think of me. I wrote to my sister:

“I think one thing I’m sort of wary of – and I realise this is just my own neuroses – is that I don’t want to be someone who seems snobby and bandwagon-y if I do wind up trying and sticking with Primal. I suspect I’ll probably just learn to say “I’m gluten free and try to avoid sugar” and hope that’s understandable enough! (It’s weird – I had zero problem telling people “I’m on Weight Watchers”, and I guess with PB it’s more of a lifestyle and not just a diet – and I kind of hate the word “lifestyle” and all its connotations. Anyways… like I said… my own neurotic thoughts and I guess in the end it’s semantics. And no one’s business but my own!”

Cutting out sugar is one thing. Even going gluten-free is completely unradical these days. But cutting out all grains? Rice – the trust gluten-free standard? It really gave me pause to imagine going to dinner at someone’s house and having to add to my usual “no red meat, no shellfish”, “oh, and also, no wheat, no grains, no sugar, no legumes.”

I started to think of various traditions and activities that I cherish and how they might be affected. Meeting relatives for breakfast at a local bakery cafe – that’s out (unless I want to eat soup for breakfast!). What about our family’s annual vinetarte-making day? I guess I could still go and participate – I just probably won’t come home with a stack of cakes for our freezer. Maybe this is too much “all or nothing” thinking.

I don’t know. Most of all, I don’t want to be a giant PITA. I’ve been so grateful that people are willing to accommodate my “no red meat” preferences and I’m in no hurry to add a bunch more demands to that. I hate the feeling of stressing out over whether there will be something I can eat in a given social situation, especially where I have no other options and no control over the food. I don’t mind carrying a ziplock of nuts in my purse, but I don’t want to be rude and show up with my own “just in case” food. (I guess I’ve done this before – bring veggie burgers or dogs to a barbecue, and no one seemed to mind.)

My sister said that shortly after she started PB, they were at someone’s house and what was offered for lunch was grilled cheese. It was a family with a new baby, and they didn’t know about her recent dietary changes, so there was no way she was going to make a fuss about not being able to eat the bread. So she ate a grilled-cheese sandwich. And then felt sick and headachy and shaky. But at least she didn’t cause a scene. I guess the thing is that if you’re not actually allergic to or severely intolerant of these things (gluten, sugar) it’s not like you’ll die if you have to eat them to be polite or just to put some food into your body. It’ll just be uncomfortable. I guess I can handle that.

Okay, enough ramblings for now. Later… thoughts on weight-loss.

3 thoughts on “What will others think?

  1. I’m glad that you are giving it serious thought and hashing out your thoughts & ideas this way. If that helps you to really work through stuff, it’s great! I emailed back & forth with my friend Carrie (the one who introduced me to it) like, a million times in the first few weeks after starting. It’s really helpful to write it out and to ask questions and pose concerns.

    Some thoughts:

    1. My opinion? Go ahead and make Vinetarte, and eat some if you want! It’s “annual”, right? not “weekly” 😉 The problem arises when it’s not just “annual Vinetarte” or “pie at Thanksgiving” or “cookies at Christmas”, but a whole bunch of things ALL THE TIME…that just accumulates to a regular pattern of sugar/wheat eating where people think it’s impossible to not have it as a regular part of your diet.
    2. Don’t bakeries/cafes/breakfast places serve things like omelettes/scrambles etc? That’s what I ordered when I went for breakfast with friends at the Dutch bakery in Lynden, while everyone else was having pancakes & crepes. I think my meal was the most delicious and nutritious by far 🙂 And why can’t you eat soup for breakfast? I would! You don’t have to stop going for breakfast/brunch with people just because you’re not eating wheat.

    This comment was going to become kind of long, so I’ll email you the rest.

    • 1) Good call about the traditions… you’re right, it’s annual, not anything more regular than that.

      2) At this particular place, they don’t do any hot food other than soup… it’s all buns, breads, etc., though you can get a side of sliced black forest ham and Swiss cheese – delicious, but not a meal’s worth. Soup it is!

      • Well, you win some, you lose some. Mmm…cheese wrapped in ham…:)

Leave a Reply

