Pros and cons, opportunities and challenges

I’m trying to see some of the off-limits things about the Primal Blueprint as opportunities instead of challenges, so I’ve been brainstorming a bit about what will be easy and what might be hard, but that I can see as an opportunity.

No challenge here:

  • I love berries and they’re Mark’s choice for best possible fruit to eat. I almost never buy fresh berries because they’re expensive (out of season, anyway), but big bags of frozen mixed berries are a pretty good deal.
  • I love coconut everything. Bring on the coconut milk! (Speaking of coconut milk, I was looking at a few different brands the other day and noticed most of them are full of absolute crap. The only brand I found that’s just coconut milk and water is Aroy-D, which is the same brand as my favourite canned curry, and as it happens, Mark’s favourite brand for coconut milk and cream. I’ll have to keep an eye out for the tetra paks; I’ve only even seen it in cans.)
  • I love eggs, fish, chicken & pork
  • I love veggies and, knowing we could stand to eat a lot more of them, will be glad to incorporate more “meal salads” into our meal plans

Challenges into opportunities:

  • I have quite a few grain-dependent recipes that I make frequently and will be kind of sad to see go. But I love trying new recipes, and it will be especially fun to start making things that I would have previously seen as a treat (like bacon anything!). I just subscribed to MDA’s newsletter and got the free PDF cookbooks…. lots of tasty recipes in there that I’m keen to try.
  • I love baking (although to be fair, I haven’t done too much of it in the last few months.. I don’t know why!). I’d be sad to give up things like Saturday morning pancakes and making hot cross buns with my mum at Easter. But I’m trying to see this as an opportunity to keep traditions, just tweak them. Coconut “paleo pancakes” are just as good as flour-based ones – no reason not to make that swap. I came across a blog last night called What I Crave that shows you can be primal and still do lots of baking – just just have to think outside the box.
  • Probably my favourite thing to make for my loved ones is pizza. Since a bread crust is off-limits and the thought of meatza pizza makes me want to throw up, I’m psyched to try out the cauliflower & cheese pizza crust recipe my sister has perfected – it sounds delicious!

Challenges, full-stop:

  • It would be hard to live sans legumes. I love beans, and as a family on a budget that doesn’t eat tons of meat, we’ve been eating a lot of legumes. Although I’m going to try to follow the PB as closely as possible for my 30 days, I don’t foresee a time when I don’t use beans as protein at least occasionally.
  • I don’t eat red meat, and again, for PB on a budget, that kind of sucks because it is almost always a cheaper meat than poultry. At least pork is somewhere in the middle, and we all like pork.
  • I’m a huge popcorn fan. It’ll be hard to give that one up. And just when I find out that mo’ butter is mo’ better!

I came across a quote on This Primal Life that encouraged me:

“This isn’t a contest.  There is no judgment or guilt.  It’s about making it work for you and your life.”

Along with Mark’s 80/20 principle, this is a good reminder that no one’s perfect – there is room for imperfection in the Primal Blueprint.

5 thoughts on “Pros and cons, opportunities and challenges

  1. There is definitely room for imperfection…remember 80/20…says the girl who just drank a giant iced mocha. Sigh. So good.

    However, good quote: “It’s about making it work for you and your life.” I know that I just can’t drink an iced mocha every day. Or even every week. That doesn’t work for my body. But 80/20 reminds me that I don’t have to be 100% strict 100% of the time. I know now what works and how I feel when I eat much beyond low-carb/low-sugar.

    However, IMO, it is important to try cutting out all those things for the initial 30 days, and to eat as PB instructs, to see how your body responds to it. You might be surprised and that might give you the mental shift you need to be ok with avoiding certain things for good. But there’s no need to think right now in terms of “I have to give up these things forever?!?”

    • Good call – I like that, about not thinking in terms of having to give certain things up forever. That reminds me of why I wanted to try the challenge – because I figured “What’s the harm of trying this for 30 days?”. Really, when I think about it, it’s not that big of a deal, and like you said, the results may give me the mental shift I need.

  2. p.s. just went grocery shopping and I’m planning to make cauli pizza tomorrow night with ham, pineapple, green pepper, red onion, mushrooms & of course plenty o’ sauce. I have been getting this “Muir Glen Organic” brand of sauce which has no sugar and no gross oils, just olive oil. It is 1.99 here for a 15oz can, and really tasty! Makes me wonder why there even has to be those gross things in so many other pizza sauces you can buy. Although after checking the ingredients, I could probably just make my own!

    • I have heard so much about Muir Glen but have never seen their products in Canada. I’ll have to start watching more closely. (But true – a good sauce could probably be made at home and frozen in a big batch, then frozen for convenience for the next couple pizza nights!)

Leave a Reply

