Coconut Flour Pizza Crust

I’d tried my sister’s cauliflower pizza crust recipe and liked it, but wanted to explore some other options as well. When I came across The Healthy Home Economist’s recipe for coconut flour pizza crust I decided to give it a try… and am really glad I did!

Here is her recipe:

Coconut Flour Pizza Crust – The Healthy Home Economist

Makes approximately two 8″ thin crust pizzas

Ingredients

4 good quality eggs, preferably pastured from a local farm

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/4 cup plain yogurt

1 tsp organic onion powder

1 tsp organic oregano

1 tsp organic basil

1/3 cup shredded parmesan cheese

2 cloves organic garlic, minced

1/4 tsp sea salt

Instructions

Whip the eggs in a large bowl with the yogurt and sea salt.   Add the coconut flour and whip until very smooth with no lumps. This may take a few minutes to accomplish as it takes some time for the coconut fiber to absorb the liquid.

Blend in the onion powder, oregano, basil, garlic, and parmesan cheese.

Line a pizza pan with parchment paper. Gently pour about 1/2 the batter onto the paper lined pan. Use a spatula or other kitchen utensil to spread the batter into an 8-9″ circle that is quite thin (the thinner the better).

Bake at 400F for 10 minutes. Remove pan from oven, add homemade pizza sauce, cheese and other toppings as desired.    Place back in the oven on broil for about 8 minutes more.

Repeat this process with the remaining half of the coconut flour batter.

I was making a buffalo chicken recipe, and I didn’t want the classic Italian herbs in the crust to compete, but I also didn’t want the crust to be too coconutty. So instead of the basil, I used 1 teaspoon granulated garlic, and I also added a healthy few dashes of cayenne to the batter. Instead of regular pizza sauce I used up the last couple squirts of ranch dressing from the bottle in the fridge (non-Primal, but oh well.). I need to learn to make my own!

Then I opted to make one large crust on baking sheet. It filled about 4/5 of a half-sheet pan. I baked the crust about an hour ahead of time, then went and did a few things (planted my herb garden – fresh herbs next time!), then came back, topped it, and threw it in the oven on 500F for about 8 minutes, just as the recipe called for. The very thinnest edges did blacken but they just flaked right off and it was no big deal.

The results… great! No overpowering coconut taste, and the crust was sturdy enough that we could pick up and eat our pizza just like in the old days 😉

I’m thinking this batter could even be used to make something tortilla-ish… when baked, it seems sturdy but also flexible – maybe enough to make a pita-style wrap. Some experimenting is in order!

Leave a Reply

