30-Day Challenge: Day 24

Breakfast: yogurt, almonds, apricots & banana + coffee with cream

Lunch: Weird leftover casserole concoction: cauliflower rice, regular rice (I know, no-no), tuna, green peppers, cheddar cheese and hot sauce. (One of those meals that makes you feel like, wow, I am really scraping the bottom of the barrel, here!)

Dinner: Bacon and eggs, tomatoes and avocados. Yum.

Remarks: Thanks to my sister’s keen eye, I have confirmed that I definitely need to work on adding protein and fat to my diet. It was something I sort of had a nagging feeling about, but it was good to have that confirmed. At the end of the challenge I think I’m going to put together a list of things I need to strive for. I have also boosted my vitamin D intake to 4000IU per day.

2 thoughts on “30-Day Challenge: Day 24

  1. Girls, I am really enjoying the conversation. I too have been trying to cut out grains – at this point just trying to have several grain-free days each week, but not too strict. I’d love the recipe for the ‘insanely good green Thai curry’ you mentioned the other day, Ems. And it’s so true that just being organized is essential. A couple of weeks ago, I ate a lot of eggs – a couple a day for 10 days, which was overload, I guess. Hard-boiled eggs in the fridge are a good option as they keep for a while. Salad with chopped eggs and crumbled cooked bacon is amazing. I have really grown to love plain greek yoghurt with chopped apples, walnuts and toasted coconut in the morning – still can’t believe this. I find breakfast and lunch pretty easy to keep on track for, but supper not so much – got to work harder on this. And I have to get back to my rule of no eating at all after about 6:30 or 7 at night – though I may feel somewhat hungry before bed, I feel hungrier in the morning, which helps me enjoy breakfast. Plus I sleep much better when I don’t eat at all for at least 3 hours before I go to sleep. Have either of you looked into coconut syrup or coconut sugar – saw a clip on “Steven and Chris” the other day with a guest who was extolling the virtues of coconut and all its many forms, including green coconut… Anyway, keep posting and replying – I’ll keep reading. Should make for some interesting meals when we are together this summer. And there will be lots of homemade red wine – am reading for the last racking, so we may bottle together at some point… love you both – Mum

    • Haha, cool Mum!! I’d love to hear how cutting back on grains makes you feel. Sugars is a big one too. It’s no wonder you’re hungry going to bed if you’ve continued to eat carbs/starches with dinner. They make you hungrier! I know for me, now that I’ve been eating low-carb/low-starch, I really notice that when I do have some, I’m hungry later. Not so if I have a good meal of protein, veggies, & fat. So if you’re leaning more towards trying this way of eating for awhile, there are a couple more things to try. Try to make sure you get enough protein & fat (healthy fat that is, so olive oil, coconut, avocado, as well as saturated fat from meat, butter, etc.)

      As for coconut I haven’t tried the sugar/syrup as I generally try to eat a low-sugar diet and when I do use a “sweet”, I use honey. It sounds yummy though 🙂 But I use coconut oil and coconut cream for cooking, and I love regular shredded coconut too.

      I’d be curious to see if trying the 30-day challenge would make a difference in your arthritis etc. You could try cutting out vegetable/seed oils as well as most sugars, as they are inflammatory.

      Just remember, don’t listen to Dr. Oz–on grains or fat. He’s sponsored by grain companies, and harbors the same fear of fat that almost everyone does 😉

      Ooh–when we come in July, I should make some of my new favourite bark for us to nibble with Mum’s homemade red wine. I use (very) dark chocolate, chopped salted almonds & chopped dried cranberries. Because the chocolate is less sugary, the cranberries add more sweetness and the saltiness of the almonds….yum. It’s so good. It’s so fast and easy and makes a good “primal” dessert to enjoy with the wine!

Leave a Reply

